Kanban Love!

4 Jul

I love using Kanban. It’s great for tracking non-project or repetitive tasks – like housework. It’s a great way of communicating with others – when the Kanban wall is up, my partner doesn’t miss the fact that the floor needs mopping or the laundry needs washing. Placed centrally, it’s a great visual reminder – I don’t need to nag!!!

Whilst I like using it at home, it’s also a great fit for the workplace.

Want to find out more? Great! Just ask me sometime!

3 Responses to “Kanban Love!”

  1. tsoukinator July 4, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

    Kanban? It sounds like a visual way of reminding people to do things, without coming off as naggy or annoying.

    It sounds failproof, when being ignorant of ignorant people. Then you will just want to kill them. Which is probably a good thing.

    Anyway, I digress..

    • Olivia July 4, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

      Precisely! So when I say that “my partner doesn’t miss the fact that…” I really mean “all I have to do now is point at the wall”.
      Unfortunately this approach doesn’t work so well without a wall.

  2. Andrew Bigger July 12, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

    We use kanban in BAU and projects alike at work. All the walls are covered in the organised chaos of cards in their various columns and rows, each indicating where that task is at. Its a great tool not only for getting things done, but also is good at showing the world what you’re committed to. Plus having to “card up” a task is a great way to mentally plan out the work, which in turn means fewer caveats are come across when it comes to do the work. I must say I can’t imagine doing work any other way, but I suppose it works because everyone buys into it at work.

Leave a Reply

