Vroom, beep beep, screeeeeech

31 Aug

I’m finding it harder and harder to get to sleep. Not only is it noisy in my head, but it’s noisy in an Indian city.

For someone who grew up listening to the melody of leaves rustling in the wind, rain on a tin roof, and assorted birdsong, the noises of Indian city have been challenging to live with. The traffic never ceases, and I guess that’s to be expected, but the stop-start method of driving, prevalent even in the night times, means I hear squeaky brakes, horns beeping and engines revving far too often for my liking. It’s an odd symphony: vroom, beep beep, screeeeeech, beep, vroom vroom squeak beep, vroom beep screech. Is that a siren I just heard? Oh man. It’s getting worse.

What really amazes me though, are the construction noises that  commence at 11pm. I honestly have no idea if it’s common to have a nightshift on building sites, but it sure has been consistent. Especially on weekends. “Bang, Bang, Bang…” It sort of sounds like someone hammering into metal sheets. “…Bang, Bang, Bang.” (Yes, this is my lame excuse for sleeping in and missing another chance to Skype.)

So in the meantime, finding it far too hard to obey the voice in my head saying “just sleep”, the other voice starts whispering as it sifts through the jumble in my mind. In the time that I should have been sleeping, I’ve drafted three half written blog posts, a map for my next photography walk, and a response to that work email I think I read recently – it’s a pity they’re already lost in the depths of my mind again.

One thing has managed to escape into the “real” world though, and you may have noticed it already. In a strange spark of what might be termed “creativity”, I’ve renamed this blog: Olivia’s Oddventures.

There, now it’s done.

Please world, let me sleep now.

Leave a Reply

